Wispy Wheat, Fuzzy Cotton and Slithering Snakes

wheat

I love the soft wispy look of the wheat as the top part develops.  That top part with the grain is called a spike…(I had to look that up).  I especially love sitting on my porch and watching the wheat sway in rhythm as the wind blows across the fields.  Today was a perfect day with a hot sun making the shade feel cool and a nice breeze stimulating the movement of the wheat.  I didn’t notice it until after I took the picture, but there is one renegade spike of wheat standing tall above the others.  Do you ever feel like you stand out in a large group?

It’s such a simple slice to enjoy nature all around me.

And that was yesterday.  This morning my husband and I took a long walk in the refuge.  Our sense were tantalized by the sights and sounds surrounding us.  Songbirds serenaded our walk.  The cottonwood seeds have escaped their pods lining the roads and water top with cotton, making it look like a light snowfall.

cotton

We saw snakes galore on the road and swimming in the water from black snakes to water moccasins; of which my husband can NOT resist getting the moccasin to gape and show its white mouth.

cottonmourth

As we walked he said, “It’s a good thing the bald eagles have moved on or they’d have a field day with all of these snakes.”  A tenth of a mile later we see a bald eagle fly from a treetop, leaving behind another-possibly a nesting pair (he’s a little fuzzy looking).

eagle2

Squirrels, deer, beaver, a box turtle, and a raccoon.  I feel like I have the makings for my own, “Partridge in a Pear Tree”.  Now to get some pictures uploaded.  Check back for them.  🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

