Rushing

I feel like I’ve lived in a whirlwind state of rushing for the past 2 months.  I loved the SOL challenge of writing daily and when that was over, I thought I’d take a breather.  But my friend shared the A to Z Challenge and I could not resist.  For the first time in a long time, I’ve been able to sit and enjoy everyone’s blogs that I follow-so many superb writers.

If you are from the US, you’ve probably heard about all of the flooding in the midwest.  If you are not in the US, have we made your news?  I’m right in the heart of it.  While I am high and dry, there are so many that are not.  And as the water levels continue to rise breaching spillways, washing out roads, causing evacuations down river, our road connections to the outside world are dwindling down to just a couple of routes.  I guess it’s a good thing we don’t have any travel plans in the near future.

While I’m not rushing to write, I’m surrounded with rushing water.  Here are some pictures I’ve gotten.

The water going over the emergency spillway washed out the road below.   This happened 6 years ago in the big flood.  They rebuilt with huge culverts but the road still washed away.

dam hwy

A swollen river that is usually 3-5 feet deep is over 20 feet and rising.

swollen river

Crop fields have become lakes with white caps from the high winds.

field lake

During a break in the rain a couple of days ago, I got out for a walk and found this little stream of cascading water that I have named Trickle Falls.  Zooming in makes the water fall look more grand.

trickle falls

Rushing waters be still, calm down to a trickle.

6 thoughts on “Rushing

  1. I hope today finds your area starting to dry out. Water is one of the forces of nature that is usually underestimated in its ability to cause heartbreaking damage. Thanks for posting at the Salon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

