Tears of Joy, Tears of Sorrow

This weekend was my niece’s wedding which means huge family reunion with siblings, cousins, and friends coming in from across the country.  We all enjoyed visiting and catching up, laughing and reminiscing…a weekend filled with joy.  I drove 150 miles to get to the wedding, so imagine my surprise when one of our local news cast ladies walked into the church.  Naturally, I had to talk to her and confirm who I thought she was.  So we even had a celebrity in our midst.

When I got back home there was a message on my answering machine that my dear friend lost her battle with cancer.  She lived a full, rich life of 88 years and is now resting in peace.  I knew the news would be coming but was not ready for it to come this soon. (Is anyone ever ready for that news?)  She lives across the country and does not have internet, so I had the privilege of talking to her with lots of phone calls and snail mails.   Sadly, I had mailed a letter out on the morning that she died.

My brother from Alaska, made the trek from the city down to our place today.  He has 4 kids ages 6, 5,and twins that are 3 (3 boys and one girl-a twin).  She’s a tough little cookie that holds her own with the boys.  They had a blast down here taking tractor rides and fishing.  The older boys have fished before but never caught.  The twins had never fished.  Today, all 4 kids reeled in fish and were tickled pink with excitement.  At lunch time they were still talking about the fish they had caught and telling ‘big fish’ stories.

In spite of losing a dear friend, it was a fun filled weekend with my family.

img_0996

For A to Z challenge, T is for Tears of Joy and Sorrow and U is for Undelivered letter.

4 comments

  1. Amazing how just one weekend can hold so many emotions that can run the gamut. I’m so sorry about your friend and yet, congratulations to your niece on her nuptials! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry about losing your friend. You are right, we are never ready to let go.

    It’s so great that you share your love of being in nature with your niece & nephews. I’m sure they will tell their stories for years to come.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

