Sing, Sing a Song

I never have figured out the rhyme or reason for the songs that pop into my head.  I woke up this morning to the Carpenter’s tune, ‘Sing, Sing a Song’ drifting through my mind.  Was it because I slept with the windows open and heard a meadowlark singing before the sun even came up?  I don’t know.  But later, while I was sitting out on my front porch with my morning cup of coffee this meadowlark put on a great show, singing his beautiful song at the top of his lungs.  He’s been here a couple of weeks.  My front yard is his territory, his turf, and I get the privilege of hearing him sing all day long as he calls for this season’s mate.  I wonder-do meadowlarks mate with the same bird from year to year?  I don’t think they do.

I was lucky enough to snap this picture as he began singing.  Note the difference between his breast in the picture above and the one singing (below), taken seconds apart.  I never in my wildest dreams when I was younger thought I would think birds were so fascinating and interesting.  And it’s so cliche, ‘that older folks enjoy bird watching.’  Perhaps it’s because we don’t have that 9 to 5 stress, or our bodies won’t cooperate and let us do those activities from our youth, or we know we are on the downside of life;  so we take the time to enjoy the natural beauty that surrounds us.  We take the time to stop and smell the roses,

or irises in this case, since they are blooming.

For the A to Z Challenge, I was trying to figure out how I was going to fit the meadowlark into this post, so I thought I’d research the Latin name.  BOOM!  …I is for Icterids and irises.             ‘Sing out loud, sing out strong!’

10 thoughts on “Sing, Sing a Song

  1. We are learning that song for our school choir. My 4 year old son randomly starts singing it at home. I love it! Love your Iris. I need to plant those this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always loved that song. I woke up to the sound of the cardinal singing loudly. He’s been singing that way for nearly a week. I woke up this morning with George Harrison’s Here Comes the Sun playing in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Debbie Lynn,
    What a lovely post. Excellent job getting the “i” words into too. I learned a new family of birds — icterids.
    I too have had music in my head during the last two nights and early morning. It’s the same tune about the greatest commandments–love the Lord your God with all your heart and all your soul and all your mind and love all of mankind… The last two nights I haven’t slept for long periods of time because I’m acting like a nurse to my sick husband. I found myself annoyed every time I noticed I kept singing that song. Then I thought about the words and got a little sheepish. It’s been a good reminder to be gentler and more patient with my patient.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Denise

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for an inspirational comment. The perfect song and words for taking care of your husband. H hope he is also feeling the spirit and strength, for healing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

