The Exchange

We live 3 hours from our two sons and their families, so it makes visits to Grandma and Grandpa’s house without the parents a bit more challenging.  Sometimes we meet half way and sometimes we have to go all the way up to the city because all of the adults are working.  Yesterday we drove up to make the exchange by returning The Dusty Boys to their parents and picking up The Sophisti-Kids.  My grandson is 11 and my only grand daughter is 9 (going on 16).

They are tech savvy, love to read anything they can get their hands on, and enjoy baking and cooking (their favorite TV show is  MasterChef Junior.)  Right after lunch I set out to make Snickerdoodles for the cookie jar and my grandson said, “Oh Grandma can I make them by myself?”  So Snickerdoodles he made.  It was planned that my granddaughter was making some apple tarts she saw made on the Chef show for dessert, making the pie crust and sauteing the apples all by herself.  She was done at 3 and insisted we eat them immediately while they were hot because that was when they were best so the ice cream could melt.  And so, we had dessert before dinner.

I love seeing these two enjoy cooking and baking as much as I do.  Tomorrow is an outside bonfire day.  I can only imagine what they’ll try to conjure up to cook over the fire when it burns down.

6 thoughts on “The Exchange

Leave a Reply

