Life with Purpose

I’ll confess right up front that when I first retired, I went through classroom/student withdrawal; because I went from a very busy, purposeful life to a life free of all teaching responsibilities along with relocating to a new state in a new town.   I’m a work in progress but I’m certain of two things: I love photography and am most at peace when at the beach.  So I’m fortunate that I’m able to join the group of Winter Texans that flee the north for some warmer weather on the Texas coast.

This morning my husband needed me to be his water girl since he was doing a 10 mile training run.  I grabbed my camera to take advantage of new scenery and at one of the stops while waiting for him, I walked out to this pier that I had not been on in decades.

img_8663

When I was taking this picture (note that there’s not a seagull around), I heard this old guy say, “Hey Lady.”  I hesitated as he walked toward me, mumbled something, pointed up and kept on walking.    I didn’t understand what he meant but had to get back down the dock, so I walked with him and he explained he comes out here every morning and cleans the fishing pier of all the scraps from the fishermen fishing overnight and feeds it to the seagulls.  As he shuffled along he said, “Look up-they know me.”  Sure enough, the seagulls were hovering over him as he walked down the dock with a plastic bag in his hand.  This was a routine of which they were used to every morning.

img_8665

He stopped and dumped the contents of the bag on the ground, stood a moment to watch the birds eat,

img_8672

and turned around and walked away.

img_8668

I stood watching the birds for a moment and then walked quickly to catch up with him.

img_8673

As I did  he asked where I was from.  I told him I lived in Houston for 26 years before retiring to Missouri and he said he was born in Houston back when the city consisted of just two buildings.  He then told me he was 94 years old!  I stood there amazed and told him so.  I wanted to follow him to see what other things he might do on his walk and to just talk with him, but my runner came along and then I had purpose-to deliver him his water.  🙂

Like a pie just out of the oven, this was my warmest slice of the day.

 

4 thoughts on “Life with Purpose

Leave a Reply

