Back To School

IMG_6797 (800x533).jpg

The weatherman says it’s not going to rain today, but I’m skeptical as I sit here drinking my morning coffee and watch dark clouds roll by over a layer of low fog.  But that does not affect the hummers.  They continue to fight for that irresistible urge to drink from the bottle of nectar magically provided for them.

It’s Back to School time and when I walk through the aisles at the department store, I feel like the hummingbirds…I cannot resist new school supplies.  I can’t.  I can stay out of the store for a couple of weeks and do fine, but if I’m in that store my body is magnetically pulled to the school supply aisle…and I want to scoop up everything and put it in my cart.  That was easy when I was teaching, because I could justify a use for everything.  But now that I’m retired, I have to justify how I will use each particular item and scrutinize what I need and don’t need.

I got back on the substituting list this year and believe it or not, I”m really excited to get back into the classroom.  So, naturally, I was able to justify buying everything I couldn’t resist.  After all, there is always a use for notebook paper, pens, and pencils.  I seldom use crayons, but on that rare occasion I want to, I don’t want to have to scrounge, so a new box of crayons is always fun to keep on hand.  And what about the composition books?  They are PERFECT for journal writing and drawing for anyone inspired to take that first step.  I bought one of every color.

Whether we are children or adults, Back To School also means reconnecting with friends.  How ironic that this morning I opened up my Beach Devotions book and the story today was written about friendship centered around Proverbs 27:10  Better is a neighbor nearby than a brother far away.  As my friends and family make their way back to school, I hope they have a blessed and wonderful year.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

