Not in Kansas

IMG_2641 (800x600)

One of my favorite memories of driving Interstate 70 across Kansas was when we drove for miles and miles alongside fields of sunflowers.   For as far as the eye could see, there was a sea of yellow flowers.

After taking several Black Eyed Susan flower photos for their beautiful yellow color on my morning walk, I was surprised when I looked across a field and saw these sunflowers growing at the edge of someone’s garden with the old barn in the background.  That made me decide to grow some myself next year.

The old barns make for some interesting pictures, but they can also be unsightly when they start falling down.  This is one of my favorite barns to walk by.  I love the door slightly open, beckoning.  I’d love to sneak a peek inside, but it is someone else’s property.  Plus, the entire backside is falling down, so it’s definitely not safe.  Every year there is more plant growth taking over, which will one day weaken the front of the barn and the entire thing will fall down.

IMG_2637 (800x600)

Sadly, when these old barns fall down, they just lie there in a pile of rubble.  I wonder why people don’t take the time to clean up their property and can only guess because it’s a lot of hard work.  I suppose it’s a blessing that Mother Nature is always quick to take over what Man has abandoned.

The past few years I’ve traveled across Kansas anticipating the fields of sunflowers, I’ve been disappointed as they have been replaced with other crops-crop rotation or other crops that pay out more money?  For now, I have Kansas in my own back yard with these sunflowers to enjoy on my daily walk.

8 thoughts on “Not in Kansas

  1. I do love old barns and sunflowers, too, Debbie. However, whenever I have spotted a barn in shambles, I’ve asked the farmer who owns the barn for the wood scraps. The old wood makes for some lovely bird houses! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. my aunt and uncle in Vermont had a barn that collapsed. They salvaged some of the wood to build a record cabinet and also for painting frames — my historian uncle took up painting in his retirement. This is a lovely story. Sunflowers are beautiful. In Eastern Europe you will sometimes see in farmers’ markets gigantic sunflower heads that people buy for the seeds.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There are a couple of fields of sunflowers here in northeast Iowa, and it’s always a treat to drive past them as they never “fit” the landscape of corn and beans. We’ve not grown them for a while now, and your post reminds me that I have seeds in the basement that should be planted next spring. When we first moved onto out place, we grew some that were easily 10 feet tall. Amazing plants and the beauty of these gentle giants is always breathtaking. Thank you for sharing your slice with us! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm, I wrote a response to this the other day and it’s not here. Perhaps we’ll both be writing about our sunflower gardens next year. 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

