Slim Slice

Well, I’ve just about missed the deadline for this week’s Slice of Life.  As I sit here wondering what to write about, nothing comes to mind except for my peaceful, quiet walk I set out for last night along our gravel road.  I enjoy walking on this road except when cars go flying by at a faster speed than they should be driving, leaving me in a cloud of dust.  (cough, cough).  And now the flies are out.  Between the cow flies and horse flies that fly circles around my head attracted by my rapid release of carbon dioxide and trying to land for a stabbing bite and the dust clouds, my peaceful walk was mostly of annoyance.  When I reflect on my walk after the fact, I remember the sweet scent of honeysuckle, the pink wild roses in bloom on the fence rows, and the beautiful colors of the sky in the setting sun and am comforted that the beauty overshadowed the nuisance.  I’ll walk again this evening!

Leave a Reply

