Finding Joy

Slice of life

After 2 days of depressing dark, cloudy skies, I was starting to feel caged, so I went on a search for my own sunshine and joy.  How do you add sunshine and joy to your day…exercise, eat, work, read, talk to friends, do a hobby, bake, art journal, write, dream…?  The list goes on and on, but I was feeling restless and none of those seemed like the answer.  I looked up the definition of joy-a feeling of great pleasure and happiness…a state of being.  So I set off in search of joy and sunshine throughout my day.

First stop…breakfast.  I cannot resist a homemade biscuit smothered in milk gravy, even when there is fresh blackberry jam on the table.

IMG_0614 (640x480)

Second stop…Packing for our camping trip to Grand Canyon.  I love to camp and just hauling out all of our camping gear got me pumped up and ready to go.  I can’t wait to get out there and push my body to the limit hiking, sitting on the rim under a tree sketching, or writing in my journal.

IMG_0617 (640x480)

Third stop…I had to go into town for a couple of errands and was treated to this beautiful surprise at the end of my driveway.  The irises have started blooming.

IMG_0618 (640x480)

Fourth stop…I decided to do a quick walk through the one little boutique/cafe in our town and the first thing I saw was this coaster.  Boy, talk about finding a clear sign…  I had to buy it, and 3 more to send to friends.

IMG_0619 (492x640)

Fifth stop…the sun popped out and I was able to get out for a walk.  I walked by myself and enjoyed the serenity of the countryside freshly washed clean from the rain.  I found more irises.  They’re just beautiful, so I figured it couldn’t hurt to post 2 pictures of them in the same story.

IMG_0627 (640x480)

I also enjoyed looking at the feathery intricacies of this dandelion and wondered if this was caused by the rain getting the fluffy seeds wet or the next stage before it becomes a yellow flower?

IMG_0641 (640x479)

And finally, I found joy in a delicious dinner of blackened catfish with another small batch of homemade biscuits, “mouthwatering and fluffy.”  After 35 years of trying, have I finally replicated my husband’s grandma’s “fluffy” biscuits?  Now, THAT was a compliment of the highest degree and made my heart swell.

I found joy sprinkled throughout the ordinary events of my day…it’s a state of being!

8 thoughts on “Finding Joy

  1. I love your post! I had to click on it since today I wrote about finding my joy again. It’s a different post than yours, but the connection made me click on yours. I’m glad I did. Sounds like you had a marvelous day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

