Baking

napofeature2 Day 6 poem about food.

Ingredients are like words
They can be scrambled up and put together
an infinite number of ways
constantly creating a new product.

I was hooked at 12 when my mom 
turned me loose with her cookbook. 
fascinated with the results of following a recipe.
I've been baking and cooking ever since.

How many ways can flour, sugar, shortening,
milk, eggs and vanilla be put together?
With a little more of this and a little less of that
those ingredients can be turned into 
pies, cakes, cookies.

I still use some tried and true recipes
that have stains and smudges all over them.
But I love adding a little of this and that
to put my own twist on a recipe, too.

To get in the mood for today's poem
I made a coconut cream pie...care for a piece?
IMG_0463 (640x480)
2 thoughts on “Baking

  1. I would love a piece! And I love your post. I never thought about a recipe that way, something to be “scrambled up and put together an infinite number of ways”. I’m going to start to think more that way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

