Music to my Ears SOL16 Day10

IMG_6192 - Copy (640x427)

The rain rolled in quietly overnight.  As I enjoy my first morning cup of coffee out here on the back deck, I’m lulled by the soft pitter-patter of raindrops and the trickle of water running down the rain spout.  It’s just cool enough to need a long sleeve shirt.  But my heart is warmed by an email I received from my 4th grade grandson:

Dear Grandma,
Since I hardly ever write to you I’ve sent you a story. I can’t wait to see you again. Also, I think I inherited my story writing from you. Since this is a short letter I’m giving you a long story. Remember I love Snickerdoodles.
With lots of love,
Andrew
His story was wonderful as he weaved his camping experiences in with his love of sci-fi novels like Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.  My granddaughter also sent a story she wrote at school about her earliest memory at ‘the farm’ when she caught a catfish from the pond at the young age of 4.
Speaking of that pond.  I can’t wait to tell her about the juvenile eagle that showed up this morning to fish for breakfast.  (Do you see the little turtle head popped out of the water eye balling his competition?)
IMG_6203 - Copy (640x418)
Between emails like the one above and eagles out my front door, my day could not have gotten off to a better start.
In this day of technology and speed, I’m trying to foster a love of writing in my grand kids by writing them letters and sending them through the mail.  I have a stack of letters written back from each of them that are in my box of cherished items.  Like with my students, my ultimate dream is for them to be life long writers.
2 thoughts on “Music to my Ears SOL16 Day10

Leave a Reply

