Day in the Woods SOL16 Day6

After 3 months of beach walks in sneakers or bare feet, it was time to slide these feet into my steel toed boots for a walk around the property line to see if there are any surprises…of fallen trees on the fence row.

Killing two birds with one stone, we started with a small campfire in the woods to burn up the week’s non recyclable paper trash and dead limbs that had fallen in the fields.  I love the snap, crackle, and pop of campfires and I love writing outdoors, so I went with paper and pen in tow.  As the fire burned down, I stood leaning against a tree writing.  Stood, because I had to keep shifting positions from the smoke-you know it follows beauty.  🙂

With the fire contained and mostly coals, we set out for our trek around the perimeter of ‘The Back Forty’, which consists of about 22 acres of woods and as luck would have it all of the  fence row is in woods.  We  pulled lots of limbs off the fence and only had one grand surprise where a dead oak limb (they’re the size of trees) fell and took out all 5 strands of barb wire.  That’s an all day job for another day.

With the sun shining through the treetops, it was nice walking through the woods before spring’s growth takes over and hearing the serenade from the frogs and birds.  I took a great photo of some shelf fungi and found a turkey feather-perhaps that ‘was’ a gobbler I heard last night.

It felt good to take my boots off, prop up my feet and wiggle my toes while I sit here and type this story.

9 comments

    • Thank you. I went to your blog and tried to leave a comment and I’m not sure if it went through. Working through kinks but I am loving this opportunity to write.

      Like

  1. I am just in awe at the distant places we all beckon from! Your woods, barbed wire, and burning of weekly non-recyclables could be 25 miles from here in central New Jersey or 250 miles but here we both are, posting a slice of our life! Thanks for that peek into your world.

    Like

  2. You made the campfire come alive with your description. I love campfires. There’s something about the scent of them that lingers on my clothes and in my hair that makes me feel like I’m still at summer camp.

    Like

Leave a Reply

